Saturday, February 11, 2017

Book Review: The Stranger Game by Cylin Busby

Title: The Stranger Game
Author: Cylin Busby
Series/ Standalone: Stand Alone
Genre: Mystery, Young Adult, Thriller
Pages: 288
Publisher: HarperCollins
Year Published: 2016
Format Read: Audiobook

"The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty young adult novel- perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart- about fifteen-year-old Nico Walker, whose sister returns home after a four-year disappearance.

When Nico Walker's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties.

Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.

But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, where Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical- where she's been for the last four years, and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah."

My Rating: 4/5

So after getting a new phone, I finally got around to getting my OverDrive app back and found some awesome newer releases that I'd been hearing some buzz about and wanted to get too. This was one of the first that I took out from the OverDrive library and one that I'd seen given in a book box or too in the last year. And can I say that I was glad to try this one out first. I listened to it more than I read physical books this past week. It's nice to listen to a book while driving or going to the gym. 
And this story was very thrilling. If you are a fan of We Were Liars I think that you would really like this. This story has multiple perspectives that follow both Sarah and Nico throughout the story. I thought that the author did a great job of building suspense and overall I enjoyed this book. That being said, I did dock it one star as some of the twists I was able to almost call and I found that to be frustrating and a bit of a letdown. As for the audiobook itself, I think that reading the story physically might be more enjoyable as it's a short read and I found myself getting frustrated with how slowly the narrator was reading. 

Thanks for reading, 

No comments:

Post a Comment